skip navigation

Prep volleyball: 10 metro players, teams to watch

08/26/2013, 11:57pm CDT
By Star Tribune




1. Alyssa Goehner, Lakeville North, OH, sr.

2. Samantha Seliger Swenson, Hopkins, S, jr.

3. Taylr McNeil, Eagan, OH, sr.

4. Jasmyn Martin, Hopkins, OH, fr.

5. Erin Schindler, Chaska, OH, jr.

6. Abby Monson, Lakeville North, L, sr.

7. Lydia Dimke, Blaine, S, sr.

8. Mackenzie Horkey, Southwest Christian, LH, sr.

9. Rebecca Hawkins, Blaine, S, jr.

10. Kylee Zumach, Buffalo, RH, sr.


1. Lakeville North: Inexperience at setter is the only question mark for the defending Class 3A champs

2. Blaine: The talented Bengals will have to gain experience together but should jell come postseason.

3. Eagan: Senior OH Taylr McNeil is a tremendous talent and a consummate leader.

4. Hopkins: All-everything setter Samantha Seliger Swenson gets to set fantastic freshman Jasmyn Martin.

5. Chaska: The Hawks’ summer club team won a national championship.

6. Lakeville South: The Cougars have a superb setter in junior Jade Tingelhoff to build around.

7. Delano: Outside hitter Shelby Seurer and setter Kristin Kreklow are a robust tandem.

8. Roseville: The Raiders have five players back from their 2012 3A consolation championship team.

9. Burnsville: Senior-dominated lineup will pull a few surprises.

10. North St. Paul: The Polars lost just one player to graduation from the 2012 section finalists.

Related Stories

Bethlehem Academy's Payton Nutter celebrating with teammates.

Tag(s): Hub Exclusive  Star Tribune  North St. Paul  Hopkins  Southwest Christian  Chaska  Blaine  Burnsville  Eagan  Lakeville North  Lakeville South  Southwest  Roseville  Delano